Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted by on Sep 19, 2021 in Uncategorized | 0 comments

Entso-E Synchronous Area Framework Agreement

A synchronous zone is a group of connected power networks operating under the same frequency. ENTSO-E has five synchronous zones: continental Europe, the Nordic region, the Baltic Sea region, the British region, Ireland and Northern Ireland. The region of continental Europe is the largest with 26 countries. Each synchronous zone is represented by a regional group under the REGSO-E System Operating Committee. The Synchronous Zone Framework (SAFA) for the REGSO-E Regional Group for Continental Europe replaces and replaces Operation Handbook of the 2005 Multilateral Agreement. It develops the Synchronous Area Operation Agreement, in accordance with Article 118 of the Guideline on System Operation, one of the eight European network codes and guidelines, and also includes the necessary agreements between TSOs in continental Europe that are not bound by EU law. Europe`s continental electricity grid spans 26 countries and is one of the largest interconnected energy systems in the world. The Baltic States` electricity grid is currently connected asynchronously to continental Europe via litPol Link between Lithuania and Poland and to the Nordic synchronous zone via NordBalt between Lithuania and Sweden and Estlink 1 and 2 between Estonia and Finland. The Baltic synchronization with continental Europe is part of the EU Energy Union strategy and will allow The Baltic TSOs to operate their systems on the frequency of the European continental system and in accordance with EU rules. The operating rules of the Continental European TSOs were updated on 14 April 2019 to the date of entry into force of the Framework Agreement on Synchronous Zones (SAFA), which ensures compliance with EU network codes and directives.

Brussels, 28 May 2019 – ENTSO-E is pleased to announce that the agreement on the conditions for a future synchronous connection between the electricity system of the Baltic States and the electricity system of continental Europe entered into force on 27 May 2019. . Europe`s continental power grid spans 26 countries and is one of the largest interconnected energy systems in the world. . The request for future connection was submitted by the Baltic TSOs (Elering, AST and Litgrid) and supported by the Polish TSO (PSE), all of which are members of REGRS-E. . . .