Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Posted by on Oct 9, 2021 in Uncategorized | 0 comments

Strasbourg Agreement Upsc

Back to the list of treaties by theme, type of treaty, year and/or country The Council of Europe cannot adopt binding laws, but it has the power to enforce certain international agreements concluded by European states on different subjects. The Council of Europe`s best-known body is the European Court of Human Rights, which applies the European Convention on Human Rights. From 2014, the Council temporarily suspended Russia`s voting rights due to the annexation of Crimea by the Russian Federation by Ukraine. In response, Russia withheld its annual contributions of €33 million[83], which weighed financially on the institution. [84] Russia claimed that its suspension by the Commission was unfair and called for the restoration of the right to vote. [85] The Secretary-General of the European Council, Mr. Thorbjørn Jagland, organized in early 2018 a special committee to find a compromise with Russia, a measure criticized for giving in to alleged Russian pressure from council members and academic observers, especially if voting sanctions were lifted. [84] [85] [86] In May 2019, Russia`s voting rights were restored following an agreement reached by members of the Human Rights Authority to settle disputes and the overwhelming majority of the Council`s vote in favour of reinstatement. [87] The Council of Europe works mainly within the framework of conventions. The drafting of international conventions or treaties establishes common legal standards for the Member States. However, several agreements have also been opened for signature for third countries. The Convention on Cybercrime (e.g.

signed by Canada, Japan, South Africa and the United States), the Lisbon Convention on the Recognition of Periods and Diplomas (signed for example by Australia, Belarus, Canada, the Holy See, Israel, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, New Zealand and the United States), the Anti-Doping Convention (signed for example, by Australia, Belarus, Canada, Kyrgyzstan, Kyrgyzstan, New Zealand and the United States) (a) and the Convention for the Conservation of European Wild Fauna and Flora and Natural Habitats (signed for example by Burkina Faso, Morocco, Tunisia, Senegal and the European Community). Non-member States also participate in several sub-conventions, such as the Venice Commission, the Group of States against Corruption (GRECO), the European Pharmacopoeia Commission and the North-South Centre. Cooperation between the Committee and the United Nations began with the agreement signed by the secretariats of those institutions on 15 December 1951. . .